Ron Ka Ming Cheung

M. Mus. (Choral Conducting)
Artistic Director/Founder

Ron graduated from University of Toronto with a Masters degree in Choral Conducting and with a Bachelor of Music in Education from McMaster University. An experienced choral singer, he has performed with the Toronto Mendelssohn Youth Choir, the Bach- Elgar Choir, the McMaster University Choir, the 1990 National Youth Choir, and from 1991-1996, he was also a member of the world renowned Toronto Mendelssohn Choir. Ron has also served as the tenor section lead for Westdale United Church Choir in Hamilton, as well as for the Choir of Grace Church on-the-Hill in Toronto.

Ron attended master classes with the Vancouver Chamber Choir under the direction of Maestro Jon Washburn, at the Annual National Conductor's Symposium. Ron was also selected as a participant in the conducting master class at the Oregon Bach Festival, under the tutelage of Maestro Helmuth Rilling. During his post-graduate studies, he attended masterclass with the great English choral conductor, Sir David Willcocks, and once again with Bach’s specialist, Maestro Helmuth Rilling.

In addition to being the founder and artistic director of the Healey Willan Singers and Voices, Ron was appointed as the artistic director for the Yip’s Children’s Senior Choir (Canada), and Chorus Canadiana in 2008. From 2001-2005, Ron was also the conductor of the Toronto Mendelssohn Youth Choir. Ron continues to provide choral workshops with school choirs and
community choirs in the GTA and surrounding areas, as well as teaching singing and music theory at the Pro Music Conservatory in Markham. Ron is also a supervisor at the Music Store at Roy Thomson Hall in Toronto.

The Singers

  • Thalia Gray
  • Tiffany Jay
  • Molly McCarron
  • Robynne McKinlay
  • Amber Olsen
  • Elizabeth Olsen
  • Stephanie Perry
  • Emily Zegers
  • Katey Anderson
  • Sabine Atkins
  • Kirsten Blokland
  • Betty Chandler
  • Judy Earl
  • Iris Jacobs
  • Cheryl Litwack
  • Lisa McKerihen
  • Gayle McNeish
  • Palav Shah
  • Robin Stauth
  • Jacqueline Viega